Tag Archives: management

Ag Legacy Newsletter – Dec. 2016

2016_12_AgLegacyNewsletter

How are you mentoring the next generation?
Mentoring is a relationship in which a more experienced or knowledgeable person guides a less experienced or less knowledgeable person through an activity or event in their life. While the mentor can be older or younger than the mentee, they must have a specific expertise which qualifies them.

This approach is similar to coaching but in coaching the goals and the plan of action are often set by the coach. In a mentoring relationship, the mentee sets the goals and formulates the plan under the guidance of the mentor. For the most part, we don’t even consider this more formal method of instruction as necessary in a family business. Often the kids grow up helping and working in the farm or ranch business. It is assumed that they will pick-up the skills necessary to help with the daily crop or livestock operations; even learn how to operate the business.
…to read more click here

What is your Ag legacy?

threefarmersWe often refer to life as the school of hard knocks. These experiences, both good and bad, lead to lessons learned, which in turn shape who you are and often influence future decisions. In agriculture, these are the experiences that shape your operation, and together, become your Ag legacy.

Join us for a discussion on what an Ag legacy is and to begin thinking more on your own Ag legacy. What are you doing to preserve and pass it on to the  next generation? What more is there than creating a will and taking care of the financial side of the estate? What about the day to day management skills? Those hard earned lessons?

Join us for a live webinar, on Thursday, October 20th at 12:00 Eastern/11:00 Central/10:00 Mountain/9:00 Pacific. We will provide a more in-depth look at the features of a legacy and resources available to help individuals begin working on their own legacy. You can click here to join the webinar.